Turkey is a republic with 81 provinces. The Republic of Türkiye is a secular country and has parliamentary democracy and Atatürk is the founder of Republic of Turkey.  The currency of Turkey is Turkish Lira and capital is Ankara. However many people think that it is Istanbul. But it changed from Istanbul to Ankara at 1928. The largest cities in Turkey are Istanbul, Ankara, Izmir, Adana, Bursa and Konya.The surface area of ​​Turkey is 814,578 km². Turkey’s largest city, Istanbul; Although it is no longer the capital city, it hosts immigrants from all over the country. Istanbul continues to be a port and trade center.

Turkey is trying to join the European Union. But we are still not the part of it. Turkey has population of 85 million and the second largest country in Europe after Germany. In the past, Istanbul was called Constantinople. After the First World War and the War of Independence, the Republic was established in 1923. Before the republic, Turkey was the core of the Ottoman Empire.

Turkey is a very popular place in terms of tourist wealth. It has hundreds of kilometers of beaches and many important historical sites on the Aegean and Mediterranean coasts.

Turkey has one of the richest cuisines in the World such as Chinese and French cuisines. Due to its geography and history, Turkish cuisine creates a great diversity.

Turkish cuisine, which is the heir of the Ottoman culture, has a very rich food potential in itself according to the regions.


Our country is in the temperate climate zone in the northern hemisphere and usually there are four seasons. However, the climate is not the same in every region due to the influence of the seas and mountains. There are three main climate types in Turkey: MEDITERRANEAN CLIMATE, BLACK SEA CLIMATE, LAND CLIMATE (Terrestrial Climate).